Self Advocacy and Research

There is a fine line between becoming a Google doctor, and self advocacy along with research. When it comes to having something like Behcet’s, the treatment options are really all borderline experimental. We can treat the symptoms, get into the more extreme treatments, and then when those don’t work, what happens? Well, you end up like me…tripling your immune suppressing drugs, going on a six week steroid taper, and sleeping more than a sloth in a coma.

When I was having severe neurological symptoms, there was discussion amongst myself and a well educated friend, about things like plasmapheresis and IVIG. The former seemed the most promising, with the latter seeming like an option should they find out my immune system was also somewhat deficient. Plasmapheresis was an interesting find for me, because it has been cited as putting many patients with many different autoimmune disorders, into remission, or at least into periods of remission. I know I’ll never be off of immune suppressing medications…but the idea that I could be free of steroid tapers, and symptoms, is kind of everything to me. I mean, I can’t imagine what it would be like to make plans, ahead of time, and not have to worry about fainting, seizing, and of course, how to eat properly so I don’t pass out but also don’t vomit.

So how do I take what I’ve learned online, and apply it to real life? I don’t know. I’m not that patient who suggests things to their doctors, but I also have come to realize that my doctor is open to my ideas at this point. We didn’t think chemotherapy would fail. To be honest, we’re not totally sure why it failed in such an extraordinary fashion, though my suspicion is that I got a nasty cold, right around the time I began to be exposed to some really nasty stuff in my apartment. My immune system was triggered, I had to lower and even stop the Cell Cept, and that is the perfect storm for relapse. Initially we thought it was minor…but now I’m thinking it was just the beginning of this larger relapse.

Dizzy. Nauseas. Exhausted. In pain.

That is how I spend my days. One weekend rallying to spend time with friends, even though we didn’t do anything insane, turned into me laying in the grass because my legs literally stopped working. The steroids have at least encouraged my appetite, though they haven’t done anything to really help me digest things appropriately. At least the GI bleeding has taken a hiatus.

I want to tell my doctors that we need to try more, that I’m not ready to give up and just accept my life is how it is. I also don’t want to suggest something, only to have them scoff, become annoyed, or worse, try it and have it fail. Where is the line? What is helpful versus ridiculous? I honestly don’t know, but the struggle is becoming insane. One vaccine has left my body struggling to function. My diet cannot sustain what I need to function properly, either. The pain, the exhaustion, it’s all just so overwhelming.

Self Advocacy and Research

Leave a Reply

