Hello Remission!

On Monday, April 17th, I had my sixth and final round of Cytoxan. It almost didn’t happen.

When I went in, they did the standard laboratory work, and I was a little worried that my counts would be off. I’d been feeling rundown prior to the infusion, which wasn’t usually the case. Sure enough, the nurses returned and informed me that my potassium levels were low. This was a big concern for me because during one round of chemo, I’d had low potassium and calcium levels, which led to a massive seizure, and a night in the hospital. It should be noted that I despise bananas. My doctor cleared me for the infusion, but ordered two potassium pills to be taken prior to the infusion. She was coming in anyhow that day to discuss plans for future treatment.

So, potassium down the hatch, and then I did something idiotic…I ate during my infusion.

I don’t get nauseas during the infusion, or after, because of the glorious medications I receive. I do, however, develop an aversion to whatever I’m eating during the infusion (or drinking). This has caused me disgust at peppermint after the first round, and a lingering desire to only eat sweets after eating chips during that first round, too. Long story short…I’ve developed a sweet tooth. I stupidly ate Sour Patch Kids, which I have grown to love despite previously hating them…and my “friend” had recently purchased Swedish Fish scented vape juice just a day before. I thought it smelled wonderful.

Now? Nope.

This past week I felt like death rolled over and wrapped in horse manure. I’m staying with my “friend,” and I don’t really remember much from the first few days. I knew my potassium was still low because of the muscle twitching and pain, but I was too queasy to give a shit. I stuffed my face with potatoes even though I really didn’t want them, and then gagged whenever my “friend” would use his vape. Even now, with the nausea nearly gone, the scent of that Swedish Fish vape oil, is just too much.

Remission? My doctor seems to think so, though I guess it’s important to note that I will always have Behcet’s. I have this urge to go out, find a job, do everything a healthy person would do, but I just can’t. I’ve even pushed myself too fast already, with walks, and the dog park, and payed via sheer exhaustion, and dizzy spells. I will be taking Cell Cept, which is still a pretty strong immune suppressing drug. I’d thought remission would mean no more drugs, but apparently that isn’t quite how this thing works. I think a part of knew there would be maintenance medications, but you always want to hope that you can be “normal,” whatever that is…

My neurological issues are a whole different situation. I still have and seizures, issues with heat, muscle weakness, and tremors. My heart rate and blood pressure make no sense what so ever…which is why my neurologist is confident about his diagnosis of autonomic neuropathy. It was a blow to be told I had a form of dysautonomia, especially since diagnosis of autonomic neuropathy is based a lot on symptoms, instead of laboratory analysis.

When you’ve spent your entire adult life, and much of your childhood, searching for answers, you expect the answers to have some tangible legitimacy to them.

Of course, my heart rate fluctuations alone have given doctors pause for quite some time. In the hospital they thought the machinery was malfunctioning, because my heart rate would drop into the mid-thirties while I was asleep, and them soar to 160 when I sat up. Welcome to dysautonomia, can I take your order? 

The reality is that many Behcet’s patients suffer from some form of dysautonomia, though from what I’ve read there doesn’t appear to be a clear reason for why this happens. There aren’t a ton of us Behcet’s patients, which makes it hard to study comorbidity scenarios…but still.

Where does this leave me? I will likely have to take seizure control medications my entire life. This means I will also require antidepressants, since I have issues with depression because of the high dose anticonvulsants. If I can keep my Behcet’s in remission, I can hopefully wean off of the nausea medications, and have more of an ability to tolerate medications by mouth. I’ve already put on 40 pounds, and would love to drop some of that weight. It is hard to see my body change so drastically, but I’m grateful that I am capable of digestion again. That being said, I will also still deal with motility issues because of the dysautonomia, and because of my limited diet and hunger during my serious Behcet’s issues. I haven’t had any issues with my balance and coordination, though I do still have hyperactive reflexes. This, I’ve been told, is related to the autonomic neuropathy, which I’ll be investigating with my neurologist over the next several months. I’m also a new and proud supporter of medical marijuana. It has saved me more times than I can count in the last few months, and particularly during this last round of chemo. Without it, I’m not sure I’d have lasted the full six months.

My divorce still isn’t finalized, because my ex is controlling. It bothers me that we’re still legally married, and that I have my married name. It doesn’t bother me that he’s trying to keep control by dragging out the divorce. I am happy, and focused on my life, and he’s not able to hurt me any longer.

His words still echo in my mind though, that nobody will ever love a sick girl like me. What if that’s true? What if I’m destined to be alone like my father? Sure, he has friends, and I’m sure he dates, but he won’t open up to anyone, largely because of his illness. He’s told me that he’s better off alone, since he’s sick, and that could be a burden. I don’t think he realized I was listening when he said it to me, and he definitely didn’t know that I would one day develop my own serious health issues.

I’m in this odd place. I know what I want in terms of a career and a family, but I don’t know how to get there. How can I have children with my health the way it is? Who would want to have children with me? Will anyone love me enough to see past my health issues? What if my dream career isn’t fully possible with my health limitations?

You know you can adapt so much of the world to fit your abilities, but you also hesitate to ask for help with adaptation, because you want to be seen as equal to those around you. I want to be loved for who I am. I want to be seen as a human being first and foremost. I know that my disabilities are a part of who I am, but I don’t want that to be the first thing others notice about me.

There are times when I know I would need a wheelchair to do certain things I’d love to do. Take walking around Comic Con festivities. I know that the heat will break me down. I know that I would be spent by the time I walked from my apartment to the waterfront. If I had a wheelchair, I could take the stress out of the mix, assuming I had the strength to propel myself in the chair (or if I had a power chair). Still, who is going to look at me, in a wheelchair, and think, “That right there is girlfriend material!”

Sometimes I let myself wonder if my “friend” could be more, but then I take a step back, and evaluate the situation. He’s an amazing guy, with drive, and ambition. He’s attractive, kind, and comes from a good family. There is probably a reason I’ve been thoroughly friend-zoned, and it’s more than him not knowing what he wants. We all question where we’re going in life. but if we see someone who feels like they fit into the equation, we know. I don’t fit, and it’s taken me a while to accept that. So while this is fun, and a big part of me wants it to go somewhere, I’ve accepted the reality that it won’t. Guys like him don’t settle for girls like me, and no, that isn’t depression or anxiety talking. Like I said, I’ve made my peace with it.

I do want to be loved though. As much as love terrifies me, I want it. So I guess I’ll just keep fighting my illnesses, and celebrating the victories. As soon as I move into my new apartment, I’m having a post-chemo celebration. I want to have a major victory dance over the end of this chapter of my life. Eventually I’m going to head to Vegas to see one of my favorite DJ groups perform.

I’m going to live life.

Hello Remission!

Leave a Reply

