Wigging Out?

I got a wig. At first I felt ridiculous with it on, and to be honest, I still feel a little ridiculous. I know people who know me will realize it’s a wig, and there is fear of judgement regarding that. I’ve worn it in public a few times, and actually had several people ask where I get it cut and colored…my hair. So yeah, it passes for real, I just have to get used to it myself.

The idea behind chemotherapy, haircuts, and wigs, is that if you cut your hair shorter beforehand, and get a wig beforehand, then you can get used to both prior to the hair falling out. Also, shorter hairs falling out are less traumatizing than long ones. Since my  hair started falling out after my Prednisone taper, I’m not really sure how well that works. Every strand was the end of the world until I caved in and had 8 or so inches slowed off. Even then it was hardly any hair because it was so thin and brittle. I just had more cut off when I went to get help with the wig, because it’s been falling out, and my hairdresser suggested a bob.

Truth? I hate it. The bob, not the wig. The wig I love, aside from feeling like everyone knows it’s a wig. The wig makes me less afraid for my hair to fall out. If anything I feel like my hair falling out more will justify the wig. I’ve had some judgment for purchasing it pre-hair loss, but the people judging don’t understand I’ve already lost a significant amount of hair. The people who know me well, have seen the hair transformation, and have been shocked at how much is coming out. Long hair is my thing, it’s what makes me fee comfortable, and not having it makes me feel exposed and vulnerable. That mixed with the Behcet’s rash on my face makes me feel ugly.

Other recent Behcet’s issues: constipation. What the hell? I’ve eaten foods I know will instigate a bowel movement, and still nothing. I need to go tonight since I have some plans tomorrow, but we’ll see how it all plays out. It’s a bit annoying, but what can I do about it? Don’t say laxatives. That will just ensure that at an unknown moment, my ass will explode like an atomic weapon, and I will have no control over when, where, or the ability to get to a restroom.

Pain and fatigue are the other two big ones, but I can’t do anything about either. The pain could be controlled with pain killers, but the problem with that is that the pain killers lower my seizure threshold. So if I’m dehydrated (and I am often) and haven’t slept well, the combination could be catastrophic. My last seizure was so long and severe it scared everyone involved. I was scared once I was alert enough to understand just how bad things had been.

I want to believe that Cytoxan is going to be the medication that pushes me into remission, but I’m just hoping at this point. I thought that things were done with Rituxan, but they weren’t. Then I was so convinced the combo of Remicade and Cell Cept would work, I planned a vacation, only to have to ask for a refund when that ended with a severe reaction to the Remicade. It’s like the disease destroying my body, is somehow in cahoots with my body. My body is fighting off the medications that are trying to fight off the disease, and all the while I’m humming, “Why Can’t We Be Friends,” in the corner while I try not to pass out, vomit, or both.

Holiday seas0n doesn’t help. Not that I’d planned on going home for the holidays, I had classes, but now I’m stuck doing chemotherapy treatments, while the people around me go home for the holidays. I know I have friends that would invite me to Thanksgiving, even if I didn’t eat, or Christmas, but because I’m doing chemotherapy, they won’t (or I won’t be able to stomach it). In any event, I end up doubly screwed because then those people aren’t around when I have treatments meaning I’m fending for myself.

I’m happy the guy is coming to my first treatment so I’m not alone, even though I felt bad for asking. He’s going to be out of town for the first week of December, and then I’ll have an infusion around Christmas, and he’ll be going home for Christmas, so I’m not going to see a lot of him next month I’m sure. (He’ll be busy with friends in between, and I’m a big fan of not burning people out.)

He’s been the only one who has really stepped up consistently through this whole ordeal. Other people have helped, but it hasn’t been consistent, whether by choice, or through no fault of their own. The majority, however, have chosen not to get involved. It’s been painful to see how many people only want to be a “friend” when that means going out and doing things together. I guarantee you when certain holidays hit, like New Year’s Eve, there will be people who want to come stay at my place. It wasn’t a huge deal on Halloween, but I wasn’t feeling well, and a lot of people have their own things going on.

Maybe it won’t be, though. The other issue is that a lot of my friend are married, or in serious relationships. They’ve made their significant others such priorities that they’ve alienated their friends. I get that your significant other should be a higher priority than your friends, but only slightly, and that’s contingent on circumstances. I have friends who spend every weekend 100% with their husband/fiance/boyfriend and it’s aggravating. I don’t care how in love you are, I guarantee you that you’d be happier if you unstuck yourselves for a fraction of a second and led your own lives. Moreover, I don’t know any men who want to give up all of their man friend time, to be with their female significant other. Being sick I can’t even fathom the thought of monopolizing someone like that. I used to send my ex out while I was sick, and he’d feign like he didn’t want to, but with all of his cheating it probably didn’t matter what I suggested. Now though, I mean it when I tell people around me to take a day or two off from worrying and let me worry.

I lie. I tell people I have it all sorted out support network wise, and while I do have a support network here, it’s not nearly as strong as I let people believe. It’s just easier to pretend that it’s better than it is, so that the people who do care, and who are involved in it, don’t burn themselves out worrying. I need to be able to take care of myself, and that might mean calling an ambulance and having to be hospitalized if I’m alone during a holiday with nobody to keep an eye on me. There is no shame in including the ER and hospital in your support network.

So yeah, I have a wig, and I’m sort of wigging out. The year has flown by, and while I still don’t know what is going on with my life, I know that I have to throw myself into this fight harder than I have thrown myself into any others. This is it in terms of treatment options, and I will make it work.

I’ll also rock the long blond hair, because it does seem to reel in some positive attention 🙂

Wigging Out?

Leave a Reply

